Mo Ibrahim

Mohammed Ibrahim is the billionaire founder and Chairman of Satya Capital Ltd., an

investment company focused on opportunities in Africa. He was previously the founder of

Celtel International, one of Africa's most successful companies. Forbes magazine ranked him as

the 1465th richest person on the planet, with a net worth of $1.07bn

Dr Mohamed Ibrahim is a global expert in mobile communications with a distinguished

academic and business career.

In 1998, he founded MSI Cellular Investments, which was later renamed Celtel International.

The company now operates in 23 countries, under licenses that cover more than a third of the

continent's population.

In 2005, Celtel International was sold to MTC Kuwait for $3.4 billion, making it one of Africa's most successful commercial ventures. Dr. Ibrahim personally pocketed $1.4 billion from the


In 2006, Dr. Ibrahim launched the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership. The

prize is awarded to a former African executive Head of State or Government who has

demonstrated excellence in African leadership. Unprecedented in its scale and scope, the Mo

Ibrahim Prize consists of US$ 5 million over 10 years and US$ 200,000 annually for life

thereafter. A further US$ 200,000 per year for good causes espoused by the winner may be

granted by the Foundation during the first ten years.

The Prize Committee is comprised of:

 Kofi Annan, former United Nations Secretary-General

 Martti Ahtisaari, former UN Special Representative for Namibia and former President of


 Aïcha Bah Diallo, former Minister of Education in Guinea and Special Adviser to the

Director-General of UNESCO

 Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, former Minister of Finance and former Minister of External Affairs

of Nigeria

 Mary Robinson, former President of Ireland and former UN High Commissioner for

Human Rights (and board member of the Foundation)

 Salim Ahmed Salim, former Prime Minister of Tanzania and former Secretary-General of

the Organisation of African Unity (and board member of the Foundation)

There have been four winners since 2006 and no winners for 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2015.

Previous winners include Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007), Festus Mogae of Botswana

(2008), Pedro Pires of Cape Verde (2011) and Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014).

Dr Mo Ibrahim holds a BSc in Electrical Engineering from the University of Alexandria, Egypt, an

MSc in Electronics and Electrical Engineering from the University of Bradford, and a PhD in

Mobile Communications from the University of Birmingham. He is a member of the Africa

Regional Advisory Board of London Business School, as well as Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim



Load More Related Articles
Load More By African Bro
Load More In African heritage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

The father was not just plan A, but the master plan

After using your strength to bring out the first form of a child for the mother to carry, …